Computer Vision (CMU 16-385)

This course provides a comprehensive introduction to computer vision. Major topics include image processing, detection and recognition, geometry-based and physics-based vision and video analysis. Students will learn basic concepts of computer vision as well as hands on experience to solve real-life vision problems.

Basic Info
Mon/Wed 12:30pm-1:50pm
WEH 7500
Instructor: Matthew O'Toole
See the Course Info page for more info on policies and logistics.
Getting Started
To get started with the class you need to do just three things:
  1. Sign up for the course Piazza.
  2. Sign up for an account on this webpage. (The signup code is on Canvas.)
  3. Carefully read through the Course Info.
Spring 2024 Schedule
Jan 17 (Wed)
Jan 22 (Mon)
Jan 24 (Wed)
Assignment 1 out
Jan 29 (Mon)
Jan 31 (Wed)
Feb 5 (Mon)
Feb 7 (Wed)
Assignment 1 DUE
Assignment 2 out
Feb 12 (Mon)
Feb 14 (Wed)
Feb 19 (Mon)
Feb 21 (Wed)
Assignment 2 DUE
Assignment 3 out
Feb 26 (Mon)
Feb 28 (Wed)
Mar 4 (Mon)
NO CLASS (Spring Break)
Mar 6 (Wed)
NO CLASS (Spring Break)
Mar 11 (Mon)
Mar 13 (Wed)
Assignment 3 DUE
Assignment 4 out
Mar 18 (Mon)
Mar 20 (Wed)
Mar 25 (Mon)
Mar 27 (Wed)
Assignment 4 DUE
Assignment 5 out
Apr 1 (Mon)
Apr 3 (Wed)
Apr 8 (Mon)
Apr 10 (Wed)
Assignment 5 DUE
Assignment 6 out
Apr 15 (Mon)
Apr 17 (Wed)
Apr 22 (Mon)
Special Topics
Apr 24 (Wed)
Assignment 6 DUE
Assignments
(Due Feb 7th)Programming Assignment 1: Image Filtering and Hough Transform
(Due Feb 21st)Programming Assignment 2: Augmented Reality with Planar Homographies
(Due Mar 13th)Programming Assignment 3: 3D Reconstruction
Acknowledgments

The lecture notes have been pieced together from many different people and places. Special thanks to colleagues for sharing their slides: Kris Kitani, Bob Collins, Srinivasa Narashiman, Martial Hebert, Alyosha Efros, Ali Faharadi, Deva Ramanan, Yaser Sheikh, and Todd Zickler. Many thanks also to the following people for making their lecture notes and materials available online: Steve Seitz, Richard Selinsky, Larry Zitnick, Noah Snavely, Lana Lazebnik, Kristen Grauman, Yung-Yu Chuang, Tinne Tuytelaars, Fei-Fei Li, Antonio Torralba, Rob Fergus, David Claus, and Dan Jurafsky.